A Knitter’s Journey

In the run-up to Christmas, I used my companionship (two hours per week with a carer in which to take care of the many chores of “living independently”) to destash my craft & planner supplies.

This destash resulted in a lot of boxes headed (eventually) to charity. Of particular note for this post were the three huge black sacks of yarn.

 

Stash bag full of yarn

 

My plan, you see, was to only have enough of a stash to fit in to a single Dröna box on the Kallax unit in the corner of my bedroom. I just don’t have the space to store more. Rather, I don’t have the space within reach, and anything not within reach or sight gets lost and forgotten.

So, I packed up the vast majority of my stash with the full and charitable intention of giving it away.

 

B&M Twist yarn

 

And then something happened. Something strange and marvellous.

 

I learned how to knit.


Knitting supervisor
Yeah, I’m shocked I can knit too, KitKat.

 

Well, the strange and marvellous thing isn’t that I learned to knit, exactly. The strange and marvellous thing is that I learned how to knit after years of trying.

Yes, that’s right. Years.

 

 

I have tried before a number of times, but I just couldn’t manage the needles. My coordination was awful. My arms flapped like chicken wings. I’d lose count and somehow wound up with twice as many stitches as I began. I couldn’t tell the difference between a purl and a knit stitch. I couldn’t figure out how to rip stitches to fix a mistake without tearing out the whole thing. My hands cramped terribly after just a few minutes, and stayed cramped all night so I woke up with claws.

 

 

I was on the verge of throwing in the towel altogether when a friend suggested I try crochet. “It only needs one hook,” she promised, and she was right: crochet was so much easier and so much more satisfying than every previous attempt to knit combined.

 

 

And yet… and yet, and yet.

I’ve always preferred knitting. Though crochet is easier to undo or work in the round, knitted stitches just look so much nicer.

And who can argue that knitting is on trend? Knitting is so on trend, you can’t escape it no matter where on the interwebs you go. Pinterest, Instagram, craft blogs, DIY blogs, interior design… “Look at this texture!” they cry. “You can almost feel how soft this yarn is just by looking!”

 

 

And so, in my jealousy, I thought: just one more try.

It’s the best thing I’ve ever done.

 

 

 

12 Replies to “A Knitter’s Journey”

    1. Same here, Cheila! 😀 YouTube is a godsend, I swear. I’ve had live teachers and tried magazines, but could never get the hang of it. Being able to rewind and replay make all the difference. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Teehee, me too. I used my 25mm crochet hook to make a blanket for my sister and her husband for Christmas, and that was way more fun than the baby blankets I’ve made with a 6mm.

        I do have an idea for the 25mm needles (blankets and home decor, mostly), but they just feel weird. The wood was super cold, almost like metal, and didn’t warm up any. I’m better with metal needles and bamboo hooks, so I’ve got my rosewoods on display on the wall instead. xD I might try them again someday, or just buy another set in metal to actually work with lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Definitely weird for wood, in my experience. Maybe I just didn’t hold them long enough, but I tried casting on for a hat and they were still pretty cold so I don’t know.

        I find it interesting how I prefer bamboo/wood hooks because metal ones squeak, but metal needles because wood catches the yarn lol. I know yarnies have their preferences, but I always figured those preferences would be the same across the board, you know? I guess not!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I understand! bamboo and wood is my preference for hooks and I tend to be the same for needles, unless it’s below 4mm as then I prefer metal…unless they’re circular needles – then I go back to preferring wood. We all have our quirks! xD

        Liked by 1 person

I'd love to know what you think!

